Twitter #Oscars2013

Hey followers!

Last night was a huge night. In case you didn’t know, or you’re completely cut off from the internet (in which case you wouldn’t be reading this blog), the Oscars happened last night! I, unfortunately, didn’t get to watch them last night….so I went to the next best thing! Twitter. Since this blog is all about Twitter and how it brings us together I thought I’d share a little bit about what I learned about the Oscars and Twitter through this experience.

This morning I got on Twitter to check out what was going on in the world and I was immediately bombarded with tweets about the Oscars. I read tweets like…

Pete Cashmore@mashable

Oscars Recap: Best Moments and Winners http://on.mash.to/XAfnLJ  #Oscars2013

Lance Ulanoff@LanceUlanoff

25 Oscar GIFs That Deserve Their Own Award http://mashable.com/2013/02/25/oscar-gifs-2/ … #Oscars2013

Pete Cashmore@mashable

Hold on, Jennifer Lawrence: Aniston Won Best Dressed on Twitter http://on.mash.to/VIsoWd

Wall Street Journal@WSJ

Oscars 2013: the best and worst dressed http://on.wsj.com/ZD7aws  PHOTOS

I was curious about all of these links, so I checked them out! In my recent journey through Twitter I have found that I can learn more through Twitter than if I actually witnessed something, like the Dorner case. Now, I’m not saying Twitter is always right, but I am saying that Twitter brings so many different perspectives and opinions that one news station, one show, or one article wouldn’t have. It’s incredible how Twitter can keep you so well informed. I even learned what dual screening was through my #Oscars2013 search (It’s basically watching something on TV and tweeting about it simultaneously…learn more here). I also learned that while they have an official Best Dressed, they also have one for Twitter. As you can see, the tweet above by @mashable  says that Jennifer Aniston won Best Dressed on Twitter.

Not only could you follow others on Twitter, but you could follow the official Twitter account of the Oscars @TheAcademy. If you visit the official Oscars website you can read tweets from the whole event. I never realized how Twitter has become such a big part of our society until now. Check out some of these videos I found from the event!

What did you guys think about the Oscars? How do you feel about being able to tweet and watch at the same time? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

