Twitter #AndyCarvin #DistantWitness

Being a part of Twitter, and writing a blog about it, I thought it was necessary to share with you a little bit about Andy Carvin. First of all, Andy works for NPR and basically made up his own job! He followed Arab Spring on Twitter and tried to find information that way. You can read more about what Arab Spring is here. If you’re really interested I would recommend reading Andy’s book Distant Witness.

Anyway, Wednesday 3/20/13, I had an amazing opportunity to chat with Andy Carvin on Skype with some students and professors from EMU. Not only was I there, but I was able to live tweet and share with the world what was going on and sort of give them a play by play.

I had never done anything like this before. Instead of me taking boring, old notes, I basically took my notes through twitter! By taking notes this way I was able to open the conversation up for others who weren’t even there. They had the chance to get in on the conversation too, and give feedback. Here’s some tweets from yesterday’s chat…

@ChassKreider Talking with @acarvin in class today! Bet you’re jealous! #acemu #emublogs

@ChassKreider “Twitter was intended to be collaborative.” #acemu #emublogs

@ChassKreider “If you don’t embrace the norms you’ll be treated like a stranger.” #acemu #emublogs

@ChassKreider “It’s different when you’re a part of the story, like with an @ reply.” #acemu #emublogs

//Note: if you would like to see all of the live tweets from this event check out #acemu//

Andy even replied to me and @redefine_online !

@acarvin @ChassKreider @redefine_online Thanks! #acemu

I was also able to take this photo…

BFzbziWCMAE2HNT.jpg large

What an amazing experience! Twitter really is a community. It’s all about being involved. When you @reply and retweet someone you’re using Twitter in the way it’s supposed to be used. It’s about connections and ultimately about collaboration.

Have you used Twitter to live tweet an event? If so, I’d love to hear about your experiences!

2 thoughts on “Twitter #AndyCarvin #DistantWitness

  1. Pingback: Twitter #MyLastPost #Farewell | Twitter #TheCommunity

Leave a Reply

